Baked Breakfast Bites

Today I caught up on life. I cleaned the house, wrote some cards, did two weeks of laundry, talked to friends and family, booked a hotel room for spring break in Texas, and attended an awesome Zumba session this morning with almost 50 other women of all ages and sizes. I cannot imagine trying to take care of these responsibilities plus the extras that a household requires with a significant other and/or children around. Taking care of the things in my own life is difficult enough – how do people do it with extra mouths to feed and bodies to clothe?

Tomorrow I get the distinct pleasure of teaching 20 preschoolers in kids’ church. Our coordinators are both out of town this weekend, and I’m sure that some level of madness will descend upon our classroom at some point during the day. I love the fact that we have a small congregation with a large emphasis on community and family, but somehow there is an imbalance in the number of people with children, and the number of people who are willing to assist in the nursery. This week happens to also be the week that my small group is charged with bringing refreshments to delight the mouths of church attendees while they socialize after service.

Trying to do my part and all that, I thought that it might be time to bake something apple-y again. These mini-apple muffins are what resulted. The recipe was pretty easy to follow, and though I didn’t put in pecans as the recipe suggests, they’re still quite tasty. The brown sugar and cinnamon topping is a little crumbly and messier that I usually would prefer my bite-sized breakfast items (desserts). I sprinkled about a 1/4 tsp of the topping on each mini-muffin before sticking them in the oven. Since most people here wake up with their coffee at church, I thought these would be great starters to their day.

They’re not the healthiest muffins ever, but they’re not terrible either. And, I snuck a taste of one that was martyred for the sake of quality control. They’re tasty, and I’m hoping to get another tomorrow before they’re all gone. Whew. Wish me luck with the children.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑