Let’s Make Some Veggie Cakes!

This morning while perusing the blogosphere, I stumbled across the idea of savory pancakes. If I thought about savory and sweet crepes, there’s a possibility that the idea of savory pancakes would have eventually occurred to me, but I don’t know when. After a fun morning teaching pre-schoolers and a couple lovely conversations with friends today, I returned to the idea of combining vegetables with egg and flour in a cake-like composition, though I didn’t necessarily want pancakes. The closest recipe I found that related to my idea was one for “Confetti Potato Pancakes.” Consequently, I used the idea in this recipe to make my Veggie Cakes, which were both a hit and a miss for me tonight.

This mixture to me seems like a cross between pancakes and meatless meatballs. I used a grater to shred a couple zucchini, potatoes, and carrots, and sweet onion together. After that, I added some garlic salt, basil, chives, 1/4 C of flour, an egg, and a sprinkle of sugar.

This mixture proved to be a little too moist and eggy to get really crisp pancakes out of the deal. They were tasty, but I admit that I ended up adding some ketchup to the while I was eating them. I tried salsa too, but the ketchup tasted better. Next time- more herbs, a bit of draining for excess liquid, and maybe even some bread crumbs thrown in. As it is, they’re pretty healthy and a less-common way of getting veggies into a meal. I was surprised at how easy and quick it was to grate the vegetables in together.

We’ll call it a work in progress, just like the rest of my life.

