Two New Books and the Life Chapter They Begin

Flipping the calendar over from June to July shouldn’t have been that big a deal. May to June wasn’t anything special, nor was April to May, or March to April. But July? July 1st, 2013 is a special day for me. It’s a day with a few signs of adulthood and transition. I hope I’m ready for them all.

  1. High School ThrowbackJuly 1, 2013 – The first Monday in many, many weeks where I’ve eaten lunch by myself. One of my best friends that I’ve known my whole life, traveled with, and generally had a great time growing with, moved this past weekend. She would come visit me at work on Mondays and we’d sit under a tree or on a bench, talking about the changes happening in life, about our families, and about our trials and joys. Last week was our last Monday Lunch Date. After Monday, we spent the week hanging out with friends, reflecting back on our last year together, and toasting to the journey ahead. I’m going to miss seeing her face on a weekly basis. We’re back to the college days of skype dates and phone calls now.
  2. July 1, 2013 – The day where I am officially on my own medical insurance. You know, having your own insurance isn’t one of those things you dream of when you’re growing up. You might dream of a house or car, a great relationship or a good education, but insurance? Maybe if you’re really mature for your age. You might contemplate it in college, but then, when you’re out…you realize how impactful that is. Granted, I had health insurance when I was in AmeriCorps. It wasn’t half bad either. Only, then it didn’t feel like it was mine because I was “volunteering” for less than minimum wage. This time, it feels more real because I’m in a position that doesn’t come with an end date. Who knows? I may actually make use of this sometime.
  3. July 1, 2013 – Back to school. This is probably the significant event for this date that excites me the most. School was one of the very first things I learned I could be good at. I took summer school from elementary school through college. My credential year even began before the normal school year did. I didn’t mind; it seemed normal to be in school when no one else was. However, now I’ve been out for just over two years and I’ve realized how valuable it is to keep learning. Professional development is huge, whether it comes from an employer or is self-chosen. I decided a few weeks ago that this new job feels stable enough that I can invest in learning that will benefit me in the position. I enrolled in a university extension course through my alma mater’s e-Learning courses…to learn more about this world of e-Learning instructional Design. 8 weeks for a 2.5 unit class, x 6. There goes the next year and a half of life, and I couldn’t be more excited. I’m constantly learning new things at work, but there’s something thrilling about the structure offered here and the idea of exchanging knowledge with people interested in similar topics.
  4. July 1, 2013- Receiving The Reason for God by Timothy Keller. After a year of not attending any Bible Study, small group, house church, life group or other similar get togethers, it’s time. This book looks fantastic, and I’m looking forward to meeting new people as we hash out ideas about faith, doubt, and the reason that God makes sense. This text looks a lot more up my allley than the rather controversial books about God and Faith that I read in college. Seriously, this is like a small group book club. Why didn’t I ever put those two pieces together before?

One loss, three gains. Definitely a day that begins a new chapter of something that feels like invested adulthood. That probably isn’t a real term, but it’s the best way I can articulate this shift. I’m committing to a course of study, to a career foundation, and to a group of women that I’m going to meet with weekly. Life has settled down, and it’s time to dig deep and invest in this place.

What investments are you making with your time, talent, and energy? What life chapters have you recently ended or begun, and how’s life’s journey going in that new place? 

