Life’s Sweet Refrain

G. Square

Life occasionally sends sweet moments to enjoy. Moments, days, sometimes even weeks of goodness strung together. These past few weeks have been one of those sweet spots and started off what I’m hoping is going to be an awesome summer. It may mean blogging less frequently, which would be sad. Except for the part about the fact that I’m spending my time doing fun things…so I don’t feel so bad about it.

Highlights include…

1) Getting to see my friend from Germany for the first time in three years in San Francisco. I took my first day off from my new job in order to drive over to the Bay and spend time with some of my closest friends from high school. We ate delicious food, explored the freshly relocated Exploratorium, and saw lots of amazing views all over the city. We took BART, walked, bussed, drove, and considered taking the trolley around before we saw how long the line was. It’s a new experience for me to really like this city – I haven’t spent too much time there since college finished, but I definitely enjoyed this trip more than my previous trips to the city in my younger years when I was terrified of driving up and down the hills there.

SF

2) White water rafting with a friend I met in Colorado a few years back who recently moved to CA. We got a rough ride down the American River complete with a sighting of a bald eagle and a California King snake. Three of the people in our boat were lifeguards/swim instructors so I felt pretty safe, even with the rough ride. I’ve missed rafting and would love to go again soon.

Rafting Crew

3) Getting to babysit my nephew on the evening of my brother and sister-in-law’s anniversary. My friend, who adores my nephew, got to come over and hang out with me and the lil guy, and we had a lot of  fun together. He’s 10 months old now (which means I’ve been home for 10 months! My how time has flown), and he’s already learned how to get across the room for any shiny piece of technology that he can see. I’m looking forward to getting to spend more time with him now that he’s closer to talking and walking. So happy to have him in my life.

Linus 10 Months

