why i’ve [pretty much] stopped writing

I don’t have much to say. Not to you, anyhow. Have you noticed it? This trend of me posting less and less frequently?

Seems like it’s time for me to tell a story – the story of my relationship with blogging.

Are any of you readers who started with me back over a year and a half ago when I first moved to Washington? The blog at that time was called “When the Road Is No Longer Seen”, and it was meant to be a narrative about my experiences when I had to let go of the plans that I once held so dear to my heart. I traded in my thoughts about what life should be in exchange for a year of service in a new state and traveling adventures through books and on planes. I read, researched, prayed, and wrote, trying to make sense of who I was and how my dream had lost its charm.

I wrote about my books and my recipes, my crafts and my days working with kids. About my travels and friends and what it was like living in a place where it felt like the rain would never stop falling.

And then I came home.

My questions, and the title of my blog changed. It turned into – how do I become a part of this community in this life stage? How can I create a place for myself while encouraging people to pursue their dreams? Where do my skills, ambitions, and talents make this city a better place. What do I have to offer to the world?

Life started being less about feeling lost and more about creating a foundation for myself. I met great people (in the real world, at that) and had wonderful conversations. I was blessed with many opportunities during months of part-time work, and found the answers to some of those questions above. In the past few months, my life has changed dramatically, and so have I.

I’m working full-time. I have new friends. I have more confidence and more faith in the direction that my life is heading, and I feel more settled than I ever have. I’m not hiding behind books like I used to, and my presence in the world of social media and blogging has diminished as I’ve found my time occupied by community work and building relationships with people whom I care about and admire.

Blogging has been a way for me to experience and process what is happening in my life. It’s been a great way to connect with friends and strangers alike. As wonderful as it has been, I don’t feel like I need it like I did before. Before I discovered my own strength. Before, when I didn’t realize that my words held any water for anyone. I understand now that I do have the power and capacity to make a difference in the lives around me, and I’m actively pursuing steps that will enable me to do that.

I apologize to anyone who’s counted on reading what I have to say or who’s looked forward to my entries. I can’t promise to maintain my online presence the way I have for the past year and a half. At this time, my attention needs to go to the people I see each week in this non-virtual world.

It’s not that I’m disappearing completely. It’s more that my posts will continue to be rather infrequent and irregular. I’m still here, reading, thinking, monitoring. This doesn’t work for everyone, but for those that it does – Best way to find me now? Give me a call, and set up a time to sit down for coffee or a meal. It’s time to unplug and live.

