Make Your Dreams Come True

DreamsDreaming is fun. it’s not to hard to do, and it doesn’t take a lot of effort. Each of us have our own visions of an ideal world where we can accomplish anything we want. We have dreams for our individual lives, our families, our work places, our communities, our country. I’m not so idealistic as to say that it’s possible to accomplish all of those dreams and I’m not so naive to think that you can make them happen by visualizing yourself achieving them. I’m also not so cynical as to say that it is impossible to make dreams come true.

I am, however, skeptical when I first meet people and get a burst of passionately described dreams. Why? Well, you see, 
I have met some incredible people with wonderful dreams. I’ve sat in meetings with them and listened to elaborate visions that I genuinely believe are awesome and amazing. We’ve chatted over coffee. I’ve caught their passion; I’ve seen their vision!

Some time later, I run into the person again and we have a conversation.

*************

Me: “Great to see you. How are you?”

Dreamer: “Oh, I’m pretty good. How are you?”

Me: “I’m doing well. Nothing to complain about.Hey, by the way, are you any closer to that dream you told me about last time I saw you? What’s happened with that vision since the last time we spoke?”

***pregnant pause***

Dreamer:”…Um,well, nothing really….I’ve actually been thinking about this new idea. Want to hear it?”

*******************

I find this conversation becoming more and more common and it honestly breaks my heart. I know I’m guilty of this too on multiple levels, but the reality of the matter is that in order to make dreams come true, you’ve got to make some goals, make some plans, and take steps to make it happen. In reality, it takes a lot of hard work to make a dream come true, and I think that’s why so many dreams simply stay dreams.

True, some of them are unreachable. There are contexts, challenges and setbacks that prevent things from happening. Sometimes those are permanent challenges and sometimes they’re just indicators that timing isn’t ripe for you to do what you want to do.

Now, when I hear people’s dreams, I’m trying to be more intentional about offering to help accomplish those dreams. I’ll sit down with someone and help narrow their dreams down into achievable goals, or bring out a template that I’ve designed to help them put pieces together. Whether it’s planning an event, designing a website, or simply offering feedback about what work a person will have to put in to their dream, I try to do what I can to equip them to see their dreams become reality.

What dreams have you kept in the back of your head and never acted out? Which ones are you itching to realize, and what’s stopping you from making those dreams come true? 

 

