When My Girls Come Home for the Holidays

One of the most bizarre experiences this holiday season for me was the part where instead of flying of driving home, I find myself here already. This year, instead of packing up my suitcase for a couple of weeks at home, I instead have packed my suitcase for multiple back-and-forth trips between my house, and the place where I’ve been house sitting for the past two weeks.

House sitting is fun, especially where I am now. I get to see the books, the art, the stories of a couple whose lives I admire. They took off for Mexico for a couple of weeks, and encouraged me to have friends over and enjoy the place. Knowing them as I do, I know the invitation is given in earnest.

Because she makes us smile all.the.time.

Because she makes us smile all.the.time.

This year, I received friends home from out of town. We’ve scattered all over in the past few years, but the core group of friends I had at the end of high school still makes it a point to be together at the holidays. For all the places our lives have taken us, we’re always together at this time of year. We went out for lunch and dinner, but the best times for me were getting to invite them over to my home away from home. Movies, home cooking, board games, yoga, and late night conversations all played a plat in the past two weeks.  I got to have a vacation even here at home, an unusual treat I didn’t expect.

It’s been a year since we’ve all been in the same place, and I’d be lying if I said we’re as close as we were 5 or 6 years ago. However, the good times never cease when you put us all together. Games like Apples to Apples and ImagineIff bring out the giggles in us, as do the entertaining antics from our unintentionally comedic friend Holly. Hours can pass when we’re together yet time seems to stand still. We’ve stood by each other even when apart, and though none of us are close to the alter, these are the girls who will make it to each other’s weddings.

The holidays are officially over on Tuesday, and everyone will be gone by the end of this next week. It will be time to return to a normal life and a normal schedule, but until then, now is the time to embrace these moments and remember the friendships that have stood the test of time. how to show love

