Christmas for Bibliophiles: Five Books and How They Fit

The image on this year’s Christmas T-shirt, stuffed into my stocking from “Santa”

Yesterday was Christmas. It was a glorious day filled with family, food, The Nativity Story, and The Grinch. A day of appreciation, time together, and pretending that we still are surprised by the gifts we receive each.and.every.year. 


Not Surprising anymore:

  1. a calendar
  2. chocolate
  3. jewelry
  4. a t-shirt with a silly saying
  5. books

Not surprising, yet not too shabby either. My favorite present out of those five consistent gifts?
Books. 

My conversion to nerdom is officially complete. This year, I can honestly say that every major gift I purchased for my friends and family members was a book. I can’t help but share the love. My brother and sister-in-law got Amazon gift cards (so they can pick their own books), and my nephew got clothes (because he’s too young to appreciate his already expansive library collection), but they are the minority.

Grandpa and Linus Reading Together

Even little Linus gets some Christmas reading action.

It’s after Christmas now, and that means two things. One, the delicious mint chocolate m&m’s that I’m eating were purchased at 30% off from Target on my way home from work today. And, Two, I can share with you my top book gifts for this year’s season.

  1. For my Dad who shares my loves of photography and travel: Journeys of a Lifetime: 500 of the World’s Greatest Trips
  2. For my Mom  who loves legal thrillers and has read every single one of John Grisham’s books: The Racketeer
  3. For my friend Amanda out trucking the country with her husband: America’s Scenic Drives: Travel Guide and Atlas
  4. For my life-long friend Holly who loves Pinterest, mason jars, and tasty treats: Desserts in Jars: 50 Sweet Treats That Shine
  5. For my silly yet brilliant bff whose name is not Rose: Where’s Waldo, The Ultimate Travel Collection

I love books because there’s something for everyone. It’s especially fun for me to get books for my nearest and dearest friends whom I know will love what I’ve selected for them. And, as if this nerdy-ness wasn’t enough, after my family left, I literally created a spreadsheet with the top 20 books I want to purchase next. I included Authors, publication dates, links to the best prices, and a color-coded key for which ones I want to read soon, and which can wait. Want to know what’s on that list? You’ll have to wait and see what reviews I bring out next year.

And now, for my fellow bibliophiles: What books did you give or receive this year? What will you be purchasing with those gift cards, and what would you recommend I read next? It’s the end of the year, and my to-read list keeps on growing!

But now, if you’ll excuse me, it’s time to go back to the gym. I’ve enjoyed my cookies, candies, and fudge, but it’s time for me to move a little and get rid of my pudge!

 

