Finishing A Year’s Travels at the California Coast

Now that we’ve hit the second half of December, it feels like an appropriate time to start reflecting back on the year. Some may disagree, but I love looking back at the end of a year at everything that has happened. I am often amazed by how much has actually happened in 12 months, and this year is no exception.

The Year of Travel & Discovery

When I look back on this year, I want to remember it as the year where I traveled, and the year I discovered strengths I didn’t realized I possessed. I appreciate the physical and mental journeys I have taken this year, and I have many memories to cherish. Maybe I’ll comb through to find my favorite moments from the year, but right now I’m simply excited to share my last trip of the year.

It has been wonderful to settle back in to life in California, and my trips to the mountains and the coast are the best reminders of this fact. This past weekend I saw my friend Diane. We’ve got this tradition of an annual visit in December, going three years strong. Two years ago it was a trip to Sacramento, last year was Olympia, and this year was the California Central Coast.

Winter at the Pacific CoastWe stayed at a cute little inn in Morro Bay, and kept close for the weekend, spending time in San Luis Obispo, Los Osos, and San Simeon.

Where Water Meets Land

We walked along the beach, climbed over rocks, and marveled at the waves sweeping in at Montana de Oro State Park.

Patches of GoldThe park lived up to its name with spots of gold rock gleaming through even on a day when the sun was hiding from our view.

Domesticated Water The tide at Montana de Oro has worn away rocks in many incredible formations offering unique views around every turn.

Sea JewelryI left in wonder of the jewel that is the Pacific Ocean, and the force that has shaped our coastline.

This is la vida buena, and I’m loving it.

