Una Boda Mexicana

One of the most delightful things about growing up in the heart of California is the diversity of experiences the region provides. Usually when I talk about diversity in California, I’m actually talking about the diverse geographical features we have and how much fun I have traveling to all of them, but that is not the case today.

Today it’s all about the varying cultural experiences that come with living here. Yesterday I attended my third big Mexican celebration in the past ten years. The first was my friend’s Quincenera where I was the only blonde in a lineup of brunettes, second was my ex’s grandparents 50th anniversary celebration a few years back, and now, third, I’ve attended Una Boda Mexicana, or, A Mexican Wedding.

The wedding ceremony was a little difficult for me to understand. First off, it was a mass in one of the many “Sacred Hall” parishes around our county. Having not grown up in the Catholic Church, masses are difficult for me to follow. When do you say what refrain, how does everyone else know what’s going on, and why do I end up feeling awkward at least once in the hour long service? Now, I’ve been to a few masses and they’re not as striking to me as they once were, but this one was hard for me because not only was it a mass, it was a Spanish mass. I caught some things, like the fact that the scripture reading was about Jesus turning water into wine, and the couple agreeing to shine as a good Christian example, but there were other parts where I was entirely stumped.

The reception boasted a beautiful six layer cake with a crocheted cake topper that resembled la nueva pareja. My friend and I assembled a table con otras amigas de la novia, and marveled at the wedding. Even though many of my friends have gotten married in the past few years, each wedding still leaves me wondering, “When did I make it to this season of life?” Sitting in the reception hall made me reflect on old conversations con mi novio anterior about the differences between the white protestant weddings I’m more accustomed to and these Mexican celebrations. White weddings tend to be shorter, smaller, and centered around the bride. This wedding was presented as a celebration of the couple for their large families, filling the day with mariachi music, accents of green, white, and red, and dancing to a diverse playlist. The entire family comes together to create centerpieces, favors, and decorations, and to pay for parts of the party, including a limo for the couple.

I don’t know how many more years it will be until I get married, if I get married. What I do know is that I really need to work on my Spanish and my dancing, and I should really start thinking seriously about my proposed plan to head down to Costa Rica for a few weeks to improve my fluency.
_________________________________

This post, and others like it, are also visible at Life Here At Twenty Something

