The Heart of Family Cooking

Chili. Cornbread. Caramel stuffed Cider Cookies. The lineup sounds like a great autumn meal to warm the body and soul and a cool day. Watching the wind twirl leaves before kindly depositing them around the lawn I’m trying to rake, I try to convince myself that we really have made it to fall. It is the last week of October, after all.

Even for all of these signs, it still feels like the tail-end of summer instead of the middle of fall. It’s 80 degrees today and my sheets are out drying on the clothesline. We got a taste of fall earlier this week with a couple cloudy days and some refreshingly chilly nights, but the warmth has returned for at least a few more days.

Perhaps the best part of today was getting to spend time in the kitchen with my parents. They decided to cook a meal for the college group that meets at our church, so we’ve each spent the afternoon focusing on part of the meal. First up was mom’s cornbread, in and out of the oven just in time for me to get my Caramel-Stuffed Apple Cider Cookies in, which came out just before dad started chopping onions for the chili. I couldn’t escape quite fast enough to get out without shedding a tear, but the timing for our meal preparation overall worked well. It was nice to have a full kitchen, and nice to get a re-do at these cookies. I baked them last with my friend Angeline back in February at her home in Florida. We got some browned bottoms that brought them down from a 9 to an 8.  They’re packed with sugar and carry a hint of fall with them.

Those college kids are lucky; they all get a taste of mom’s cooking tonight. Not only that, they get dad’s and mine as well.

