All About the Politics

We’re sitting here a few weeks shy of this big election and I am so tired of the politics. Locally, the big race is for state assembly. I attended the first debate out at the university last Thursday. I sat through the hour long debate, listening intently, trying to figure out what I think about their goals, what I think about their personalities, and what I think about the political options available to me.

I feel this at the local level and at the national level. Like many people, I rather groan about having to deal with the “lesser of two evils” conundrum. I’d like these elections to be over just so that I don’t have to hear any more banter or debate. I will vote, and seriously debate whether my own opinion matters. Sure, we have this great democratic process that gives people a vote, blah, blah, blah. I live in California of all places. I am one of 37.7 million people in one state. We have an economy the size of Italy, which makes my one vote feel even less significant.

I try not to get too political. Politics create conflict between people who would otherwise get along great, and I frankly try not to deal with them. In the past week, I’ve been wading more deeply into the politics of our city by going to this debate and having conversations with people working in the local media, non-profits, and government agencies. I appreciate the fact that I have the opportunities to hold these conversations and that I have outlets where my voice can be heard. However, I don’t see this whole “real change” business that everyone seems so eager to claim. Instead, I hear lots of people talking and talking and talking. Occasionally they listen, but mostly they just talk.

Let’s see something happen, shall we? Find a way to minimize your local/county/state/national deficits without killing anyone, and then I’ll care more about what you have to say.

That works as a fair trade agreement, right?

