Humility and Kitty Love

These past few weeks, I’ve felt rather lazy. I’ve put in my few volunteer hours and my couple of hours of tutoring, but I’ve also put in lots of bonding time with Daisy. Making up for lost time, we’ve cherished each other’s company since I returned home. She sits in my chair, decorating it with her fur, and I sit on the floor, petting her from my rightfully humble position.

I am trying to get more accustomed to living a humble life. Since high school, 1 Thessalonians 4:11 has been one of my favorite verses, and it  exemplifies my goal for life, “Make it your ambition to lead a quiet life, to mind your own business and to work with your hands, just as we told you,” This verse warms my heart and comforts my soul, and lately, I’ve found myself obeying its command.

Humility in its essence does not boast of its accomplishments, but I’ve realized that this mention of “working with your hands” in this verse is not a coincidence. Whether I’m amusing my cat, preparing books to be shelved at the library, or making small updates on our non-profit’s website, I am doing work with my hands. Part of me wants to brag about my intellectual credentials, but at the same time, I know that they don’t matter.

What’s exciting now is that in a month I have gone from not having any jobs, to having three part time jobs. I start the third tomorrow, and though it’s set to be temporary, I’m glad to have some other way to use my time, employing my head, heart, and hands. I’m working in a medical office, a non-profit office, and I’m ESL tutoring. The evenings still hold time for kitty love and gym time.

There is much to love in life, even if it’s not what I planned.

 

