An Author Worth Reading

Whilst still in Olympia, I read John Piper’s Don’t Waste Your Life. The book challenged me and encouraged me and I resolved to read more of his books.

These past couple weeks I’ve been doing just that. I read Think, a book about what it means to “Love God with all of your mind”, and I’ve been working on Future Grace as well. Piper has many valuable insights with plenty of references and history behind him. He knows what he’s talking about, and he articulates himself well.

For all of my love of reading, I have trouble making it through texts heavily based on Theology. It’s unfortunate, I feel, because there is such wisdom in theology that I know I’m missing as I struggle to read and understand it. Often I go for Psychology and Sociology because they’re easier. They offer a more simplified (though flawed) perspective on the world, and I want to buy in to life being that simple.

Piper is a straight-shooter with his words. He’s not afraid to articulate his convictions as I often find myself, and he writes with a self-awareness that I think is uncommon in modern theologians. I’m struggling to get through these books because they are so dense, yet I will press on because I believe that they’re worth reading and I’m getting so much from the wisdom he’s packed between the pages.

I found out last week that I’m going to get to go to a conference in his stomping grounds in the Twin Cities (Minneapolis & St. Paul, MN) this month, and I think I’ll even have the opportunity to hear him speak in person. Till then, I’m going to keep trudging through these books, growing in my understanding, and slowly opening my heart to grow my faith in a goodness that is beyond anything I can imagine.

