Understanding “The Office”

Yesterday I had a Netflix Office marathon by my lonesome. I remember when I was in college, people would have Office watching parties where they’d all arrange their schedules so that they could watch the show together and hang out afterwards. I didn’t get it at the time. The humor, the cinematography, the  acting. I didn’t understand what was so entertaining about an incompetent manager and his staff in a setting best described as mundane. Somehow, it’s different now.

After a year of working in an office, I get it. I understand that in an office you have to have little parties and celebrations. Everyone needs to find a way to stay motivated and to feel important. I felt for Pam whose creative abilities aren’t appreciated and who isn’t encouraged to reach her full potential, and who has to put up with Michael everyday.

The Office isn’t what it used to be, and it’s still going downhill with the changing of casts. Jim and Pam’s wedding was still the best episode, and the funniest parts are often the most subtle. While How I Met Your Mother  is the Friends of this time, The Office  still holds its role in poking fun at the overly serious and mundane world of office life.

Will I end up in an office? It’s possible, but I’m not sure. If I do, I don’t think it will be nearly as entertaining. Oh well, I’ll figure it out sooner or later.

