Too Much Too Soon

I’ve been submitting job applications, hoping that interviews will coincide with the time that I finish AmeriCorps. Right now, there’s an issue. I have a couple of interested places, but the next step is a written interview. There’s a specific date for each of the two places, and they are both before I am set to leave for California again.

Do I fly down just to complete this written test? Do I wait to hear back from the other jobs I have applied for? Do I pray that they will be flexible with me?

I counted on them being slow with their recruitment, and though I have been anxiously waiting, I thought I had pretty good timing. Turns out I jumped the gun a little for these places. They aren’t my top choices out of the jobs I have applied for, but they’re the ones that have expressed interest, and right now, I have no clue what to do.

Oh childhood, I yearned for you to end too quickly, and now I wish I could go back. But in the words of Relient K, I’ve got one foot out the door/And to go back where I was would just be wrong/I’m pressing on.

Either way, I’ve got to embrace what’s ahead of me, even when I don’t know what it is.

