Kale Salad and Homemade Hummus

Phew. This week has run me down, and I’m glad to be here at home today. Today is the day of our fundraiser, and I’ll be leaving in about an hour to put in almost another full work day this weekend. Though I might be tempted to complain about working on a Saturday, I’m actually quite excited about what is happening this evening. I’ve spent weeks working preparing for this, and it’s the largest private source of income our agency has the entire year.

I’m also glad to have this time today for the chance to pull together some tasty eats. For breakfast this morning, an omelette with spinach, tomatoes, onion, and cilantro. For lunch, an apple, some peanut butter, and this deliciously simple plate. For this plate, I took my first go at homemade hummus- tahini paste, chick peas, garlic, olive oil, cumin and salt. My hummus turned out a little chunky, and had a fabulous flavor when spread on a thin bread, and toasted. With it, I steamed some kale and trail mix. Yes, trail mix. Cashews, dried cranberries, and almonds, put into a steamer basket with some kale. 

I’ll be watching children, delivering raffle prizes, and eating at a buffet tonight, but for now, I’m going to allow this pleasurable plate to play on my palate.Image

