Thinking Time

This 3-Day Memorial Day Weekend is the first time that I’ve actually had any time off of work and not had visitors/been on a trip out of state. I’m quite accustomed to rushing back at the end of a trip away and putting down a suitcase that might get unpacked before the following weekend comes. With a friend coming up in three weeks for a glorious 4-day Northwest Extravaganza, I didn’t really feel like I needed to have a massive trip this weekend. Instead, I took up some thinking time.

Life has given me plenty of things to think about right now as I gear up for another transition in the next few weeks. The end of my time working with the kids and serving this AmeriCorps term is rapidly approaching, and I’m looking for jobs, determining where, what, and why I’d pursue a particular position. I know that I don’t want to go back into a traditional classroom, and I don’t want to spend my day working with groups of children, yet it would still be nice to do something in Education. I’m currently focusing on applying for library and university services jobs within a two hour radius of my parents’ house. My eye is set on the Sacramento area, since I loved living there so much last year, but realistically speaking, I think I’m going wherever I get a job offer.

Tomorrow I’m set for a day without internet as my roommate is taking out modem to the house she’s slowly moving into, so I’ll be without internet for tonight and tomorrow. Gasp. I cannot watch TED talks on Netflix, like I spent much of yesterday doing. I cannot submit job applications, though I can work on my cover letters, and I cannot spend the day pinning, as I tend to do for much of my Monday hours each week. Insecure as it makes me to not have home-based internet access, I think I’ll be okay. I’m toying with the idea of giving up my personal computer entirely in a few weeks as I set off for July adventures- living with friends for two weeks, camping, road-tripping, and seeing new parts of the West Coast. Maybe I’ll start with one day off and go from there. Who knows? Life without internet might give me lots of time to bake delicious food. I’m hoping to try these homemade granola bars tonight, and a strawberry crumble for tomorrow’s obligatory BBQ. Sorry, no pictures to share as of now, you’ll just have to use your imagination.

