A Cloudy and Tasty Eclipse Day

While many people viewed what I’ve heard was an awesome eclipse today, I got to look outside my window at a drizzle of rain that has returned after a week and a half away. The only eclipse viewing that I remember in my lifetime was when I was in preschool. We crafted viewing boxes and took turns looking at the sun, oohing and aahing over the view. Today, the only oohing and aahing I did was over my food.

Leading up to my baking, I watched Sleepless in Seattle and some TED Talks. The rain made the movie an appropriate choice, and it also fit in with this year’s movie picks based on wanting to watch movies that feature destinations I’ve visited. So, while I was delighting over views of Pike’s Place and the Puget Sound, I was also brainstorming what kind of warm goodness I could consume at the end of the day.

However, as it is almost the end of May, and I’m trying to pretend that it actually feels like summer, I had a salad for dinner, and then finished off with a warm dessert. My salad featured couscous, garbanzo beans, tomatoes, carrots, onion, peppers, raisins, lettuce, and green peppers. I let it sit in some lemon juice for a while, and paired it with a warmed corn tortilla for consumption.

After dinner, I pulled dessert out of the oven- applesauce bread sprinkled with raisins. I took an original recipe, added more applesauce, and cut out the oil completely. No flax in this week’s baking. I’ve had enough of that lately. I paired the applesauce bread with some of Trader Joe’s Premium French Vanilla Ice Cream. It’s highly fattening, and amazingly delicious. You’re good to go with just a few bites, and that’s probably all your body can handle at a time.

I long for true summer, but for now, I’ll try to be content with the fact that I can still enjoy warm baked goods. Applesauce bread might be more suited for fall, but on a day like today, it’s still pretty tasty.

