Dear California,

Dear California,

I miss you. It’s been just over four months since my feet last left your sacred soil and boarded a flight bound for the Pacific Northwest. Since then I’ve boarded other flights, driven to another state, and seen many beautiful places. It is only on their most glorious days that these places even remotely compare to you. Granted, you aren’t perfect. You have many economic and societal woes, the people who inhabit your southern regions are way too focused on making money, living large, and driving around in their fancy cars. And yet, after living in several of your cities, driving on your roads, and sampling what your different regions have to offer, I boldly declare that you are the most stupendous state in the country. I love your beaches, both warm and cold, with the waves that come in both fast and slow to caress and demand submission from the rocks and sand that lay beneath them. I love your mountains with their majestic trees reaching to the heavens and the rocks that hold them into place. Your lakes, rivers, streams, and creeks all carry the water that occasionally falls into places where you cultivate the seeds that we plant into your stubborn soil. Your luscious crops feed us while the rest of the country looks on in envy. You’ve got culture from the Bay, LA, and from the region of Central Cali that I affectionately still call home.  I’m sorry that I left, but I needed some time away. You know what they say-that absence makes the heart grow fonder-and after these dreary months away, I can firmly attest to the truth that my heart is far more fond of you than it has been for quite some time. If I come back to you, will you welcome me with open arms? Deliver unto me a job that is well-suited for my experience, temperament and passions, and a place to call home where I can curl up with my cat in the evening, and go hiking on the weekend. You’re quite enticing, I’ll admit it to all. The question remains for you now–will I regain my status of CA resident this upcoming Fall?

Love forever and always,

Jamie

