Indian Inspired Dinner for One

In the midst of my cooking adventures and other life changes, I’ve noticed my taste buds changing. There are a lot of flavors that taste better if not downright delicious now that did not delight my taste buds even a couple of years ago. Before, I didn’t really enjoy eating anything spicy, regardless of what type of spice was in a dish. I liked my meals bland –you know, meat and carbs with a piece of fruit and a sugary dessert to end off the meal. Now, spices intrigue me, and I’m trying to use them more. Tonight was a night to celebrate this new found attitude, as well as my discovery that coconut in the new “magic” ingredient out right now. (Don’t believe me? Check out a few health blogs and you’re bound to trip over it soon enough.) I love hunting up recipes on pinterest, and around the web. Tonight I made Indian Savory Yellow Rice complete with a bay leaf and whole cinnamon stick, as well as a spicy chicken and mango dish that used turmeric, cumin, paprika, fresh ginger, garam masala, lemon juice, and coconut milk. Let me tell you that this is not a dish I would have not eaten, much less attempted to cook, before this year.

Besides adding extra spices into my life, I’ve also been trying to figure out healthier ways to make my cake and eat it too. I’ve got a huge sweet tooth, but I’m trying to make at least slightly healthier choices about how I fix my craving for something sweet. There’s a widely popular blog called Chocolate Covered Katie that is bursting with recipes that are sugar free, dairy free, vegan, gluten-free, low fat, low calorie, etc. The first few times I stumbled across links to it, I dismissed it as I thought the banner looked unprofessional and I wasn’t quite ready for changing my prejudice against recipes that are not high in sugar and fat, but at this point, I’m taking notice. I thought I’d try out a recipe for a  “One Minute Chocolate Cake“, serving size one. The author, Katie, has a lot of desserts “for the single lady”, and seeing as that phrase describes me, I thought I’d give it a go. I used apple sauce and milk to moisten my mini-cake and baked it in the microwave in a ramekin. I sprinkled it with chocolate chips which I melted and swirled atop my little cake. Overall, it wasn’t quite sweet enough for me, but it was very moist and not bad for the little effort it took. Maybe, just maybe, I’ll be making more things as dictated by CCK. We shall see together, as I continue sharing my cooking adventures.

Happy Weekending!

