Paper Flowers and a Satisfying Supper

After making four cards yesterday I was inspired to keep doing paper crafts today. Lucky for me, I had the little girls today and they love doing crafts with me. I’m still trying to fight the winter blues (those ones that have lasted too far into spring for my liking), so I spent a good portion of the morning today looking up different ways to make paper flowers. We ended up making some out of oragami paper, some out of tissue paper, and some out of crepe paper. The girls loved it and I did too. We topped it off with a “vase” made fromo recycled water bottles with colored paper glued on the outside. 

I came home and invested some serious thought into the question, “What to eat for dinner?”

I’ve been looking up recipes for a while, but I’ve had random little things going on that have kept me from sitting down to a good, homemade meal. After my stop at WinCo the other day, I ended up with a pantry stocked full of new grains, and so I set to my kitchen, quinoa in hand. I cooked the quinoa in one pot on the stove while mixing things up in a skillet on another burner. Mushrooms, red onion, garlic, zucchini, spinach, raisins, almond slices, alfalfa sprouts, red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper all made it into the dish that I called dinner tonight. It’s another meatless meal, as many of mine are now a days, and it was quite delicious. I finished off the meal with a little tapioca pudding and with fresh cubed mango. Ah, it’s so much to get to enjoy a meal like this.

The evening was made complete by a trip to the gym, a skype conversation with two of my best friends, and the anticipation of returning to the book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, which I picked up a few days ago after having it recommended by my sister-in-law. If you’ll excuse me, it’s reading time.

