National Screen Free Week: A Great Excuse for Crafting

In case you hadn’t heard, it’s National Screen Free Week, a week devoted to the removal of televesion viewing time from family time in exchange for outdoor exploration, board games, and reading. I’m a fan, and so is my friend Sylvia who set up an amazing event at the elementary school where she works tonight. Well over 100 people came together for a free dinner, raffle, crafts, games, jiu jitsu demonstration, and free books provided by a local non-profit. I was blown away by the event as well as by the level of participation from the local business who donated goods and the families who all came and participated.

Not that I really need an excuse to craft, but I’m taking this as a time to intentionally not watch shows, and to instead make cards for three friends who have birthdays this month. I only made one last month, that being for my mom’s birthday.

So if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got some card making to take care of.

