A Week’s Worth of Treats

This past week I spent a lot of time staring at recipes and not a lot of time cooking. Since it was my birthday week I got taken out for dinner and for ice cream, and I received almost a dozen cards in the mail. I loved getting to spend time with friends and family in celebration of my birthday, though I think it’s a bit ironic that the day designated to celebrate my life is one that I have absolutely no control over. I mean, what if I wanted my life celebrated in January, July, or October? Ah, oh well. It was fun getting to hear from and spend time with the people I love, and the weekend afforded its own time to catch up on cooking.

The past month flew by and I found myself again this weekend on duty to bring goodies to church and to teach the children. This unit’s lessons are on forgiveness, something that I feel I must relearn every week, month, and year of my life. Hopefully the kids start learning that lesson earlier in life than I. Anyway, after Pinning away for the past few days, I’d stacked quite the list of recipes. For church, I pulled up a recipe for Carrot Cake Breakfast Cookies, which I doubled and then substituted half apple sauce for the oil required. With carrots, oatmeal and raisins tucked inside these scrumptious little bites, I found my cookie plate clean at the end of church when I emerged from the kids’ classroom.

If you’ve been reading, you’ll also be aware that I’ve been frozen dessert kick for the past several weeks. I purchased a mini ice cream maker this week and put it to work with some genuine vanilla-bean speckled homemade ice cream last night for a little hangout with some friends, and a Kumquat Strawberry Banana Sorbet today. I pureed some kumquats, strawberries, bananas and sugar, tossed in a splash of whole milk, and put it in the ice cream maker for a few minutes. Though you’re really supposed to strain out the chunks, I kind of like the texture, so I left them in, shaved some chocolate flecks onto the sorbet, and enjoyed my tasty little frozen treat.

Another recipe that sounded delicious was for grilled bread topped essentially with ricotta cheese, and broiled grapes infused with thyme. As I don’t have a grill right now, I just toasted some bread and topped it with the other ingredients for lunch this afternoon. I’m not a huge fan of ricotta outside of baking, but the grapes were amazing. I pulled the thyme off the bread right before eating it and was stunned by the light yet full taste of the grapes. I definitely see that as a recipe to make again and share with friends.

I’m off to bask in the glory of today’s sun– we hit 70 degrees and full sun. I almost can’t believe that I’m still in Olympia. The rain will come back soon, but for now I will simply appreciate the blooming flowers, chirping birds, and people walking around in their summer clothes. Oh you Northwesterners. You don’t know what heat is.

