Yearning for Frozen Treats

It’s currently about 45 degrees outside, and I’m reading recipe books for ice creams, gelatos, sorbets, and popsicles. Apparently my tendency to switch between genres of books in phases has extended to cookbooks. I would say that this started with the purchase of my Williams-Sonoma Frozen Desserts cookbook that I mentioned purchasing yesterday, but that would be a lie. The truth is I’ve been searching, pinning, and drooling at icy desserts for weeks now. Today I picked up two books at the library to complement the one I purchased, and I’m so excited to dive into them. I picked up Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream at Home, published last year, and Pops! Icy Treats for Everyone, published in 2008. They have creative, fantastic looking recipes in them that make me long for summer’s warm days even more. For about the last month, since before I left for Austin, I’ve been wanting to make popsicles and ice cream. I’m currently on the lookout for fun popsicle molds and a small ice cream maker, but I’m having some good adventures planning in the meantime. Today I stumbled across some Zoo Animal Ice Cream molds. Totally made my day.

In general, I think that I have paid more attention this year to how adulterated my food is. I’ve come to respect the process of cooking and assembling a meal myself, and I care a lot more about how healthy and how delicious the foods I’m eating are. I want to make things myself, to experience the process of their creation and to sigh with delighted satisfaction as I master another recipe. I’m broadening my culinary palate and having a fantastic time with these adventures in home-crafted meals. Hopefully next year there will be more people around to enjoy and appreciate the results of my gastronomic explorations. Time to research more articles, extend the lists of cookbooks I want to buy, and contemplate an array of desserts that are completely out of season.

