Pizza from Scratch

Friday nights growing up were often pizza, Papa Murphy’s Take N’ Bake to top off a week of mom’s delicious home cooking. This week I updated that experience for my grown up self by tossing some water, olive oil, wheat and white flour, salt, yeast, sugar, and Italian herbs into my little bread machine,went for a walk, and came back to find some wonderfully elastic dough ready, like a canvas, for some pizza fun.

Since I seem to have grown more interesting taste buds than my younger self possessed (cheese, red sauce, mushroom and olives was the favorite pizza of my younger years), I thought I’d experiment a little. To top my Italian Wheat Dough, I added some pesto, Gorgonzola cheese, and sun-dried tomatoes. My roommate made a mini pizza of her own, adding sausage and tomato paste to hers with a couple of different cheeses. We slid our pizzas into the oven and 15 minutes later, out came two little pizzas that quickly found a new home in my stomach.

Yay for warm, comforting food at the end of the week. Now, time to check out some of the books that the library loaned to me this week. In other words, it’s time to relax.

