Baked Coconut Shrimp

This weekend I’m looking forward to doing some baking for a double baby shower, and I’ve got a couple desserts in mind. Before I start my baking extravaganza though, I needed some tasty eats for dinner.

Out of the book Cook This, Not That, I cooked up some Coconut Shrimp. The whole idea with this book is that they take entrees in restaurants and show you how to make them for less money and fewer calories at home. The book touted as a 200 calorie entree whereas Red Lobster’s Coconut Shrimp comes out at 980 calories. 

It’s shrimp bathed in egg, dipped in flour, then coated in shredded coconut, bread crumbs, salt, and pepper. I enjoyed the crisp of the coconut with the freshness of the shrimp. I took the rest of the coconut batter and dipped some zucchini slices in it. Baked at 450 degrees for 10 minutes and coupled with some brown rice. I drizzled it with some dipping sauce from Trader Joe’s and happily munched my war through this fun and delicious dinner for a Friday evening.

Welcome to the weekend.

