Quiet, Like My Voice

It’s been a little while since I’ve updated you on what I’m reading, and even though I haven’t finished a book to be able to write a complete overview, I thought I’d still drop a line about what I’m working through. I’m really enjoying the book that I’m reading, so I’m taking my time going through it. In fact, I read so many reviews and had the book recommended to me enough that I actually bought it. For those of you who have been following along, you may realize how monumental this is, since I make at least two trips to the library each week.

What book is this that I feel so intently about? It’s is Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking  by Susan Cain. A Psychology-Personality tag adorns the back of the book and shows up on each page of this non-fiction work which boasts personal and familiar anecdotes as well as research to support a broader understanding of introversion. Every chapter brings new insight as I nod my head in agreement from the standpoint of I’ve been there. I’ve done that. I have received the same comments from people around me as well. I’m a big believer in Myers-Briggs types as a way to tell even before I’ve really gotten to know someone how well I’ll get along with them. (My Type, by the way, That may sound harsh, but by this point in life, that inventory has matched up pretty well with people that I’ve adored and people I’ve attempted to avoid due to a series of negative interactions with him or her.

Anyway, this book has been hailed almost as a work of saving grace for self-identified introverts in the U.S. where extroversion, or at least the appearance of extroversion, is more highly prized than that of introversion. Cain addresses this in her opening chapter, “The Rise of the ‘Mighty Likeable Fellow’: How Extroversion Became the Cultural Ideal”, before working through an introvert’s best style of collaboration, the neurological basis for some introverts, the inner workings of our minds, and how to overcome some of the negative associations and anxiety that introverts, as introverts, may experience.

I’m about halfway through this text now, and I’ll post again when I finish. Anyone else heard of it or reading it? I’d love to compare notes when I (we) are done.

