Bite Sized Berry and Oatmeal Pancakes

As far as breakfast foods go, pancakes have a special place in my heart. Coming from a life of boring breakfasts where bowls of cold cereal and oatmeal dominate most of my memory, pancakes have always been a way to break up the monotony of a breakfast routine.

When I was younger, my family would all eat pancakes or waffles together each weekend. Us kids set the table and practiced pouring the batter once mom or dad had made enough to feed our family. In college, I have great memories of Saturday get togethers with a “pancake bar” of chocolate chips, berries, and banana slices to customize friends’ pancakes. Now that I am essentially living by myself, sometimes I forget to savor a special morning breakfast. Today, I decided to make myself remember, and wow am I glad I made that decision.

I fired up Pandora and said good morning to Google. I searched for some sort of “healthy oat pancake recipe” and started browsing. Several months ago I made the discovery that Allrecipes.com tends to have a great selection to choose from, and I soon found a recipe on their website that looked like a great starting place. I started with this recipe for Whole Wheat and Oatmeal Banana Pancake batter, and tweaked it a bit. I cut the recipe in half, which should still be enough for a good three breakfasts for me. I added more egg instead of putting in banana, and topped off the recipe wish dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg, mostly because I think those two spices make any batter better.

To make the pancakes, I poured about a tablespoon on batter into a skillet, and topped each mini circle with a slice of fresh strawberry. Between the strawberry and the cinnamon, these pancakes don’t even need any extra sugar or syrup on top. They’re sweet and light, and the greatest danger in making them is potentially not being able to get them from the pan to your plate, since it’s quite tempting to eat them as soon as they’re done cooking.

