Book List: Grown Up Digital

Along with my intersecting interests of technology and Millennials, I’ve been looking for more books to read. I think this book,Grown Up Digitalis the last of this genre that I’ll be reading for a while, but I thought I’d share, because it ranks up there with Millennial Momentum on my list of recommended readings about Millennials, though the author prefers to use the term the “Net” generation. Don Tapscott opens with a list of criticisms that people have stated over the years about this generation, and then spends the rest of book defending this generation. He talks about the effects of social networks, suggests modifications for our educational system to engage more students, and picks up on the common thread from other authors about how this generation is likely to volunteer and give back to their communities. The book is well written and well researched, and despite being published in 2009, still has a lot of relevant commentary for the way this generation is developing.

When I started reading all of these Sociology, Business, and Current Events books about this generation, I was looking for answers to the questions, “How typical is my experience of the world around me for people my age, and what hope can I have looking forward?” I’ve been worrying a lot lately about what work I’ll be able to find after this AmeriCorps term is done, in addition to worrying about where I’ll live and how I’ll pay the bills. From all of my reading, I keep coming back to the fact that I’m not alone in this fear, which is both comforting and terrifying.

Life has felt difficult lately. The sun has been hiding, I haven’t felt inspired, and I’ve missed the presence of friends and family in my daily life. I’m looking forward to my trip to Miami next week, and am hoping that getting to visit Angeline will pick my spirits up. I think that I need some lighter reading as well, but besides reading The Help back in November, I haven’t read any fiction since summer. I want to be able to get lost in a book again, to discover a new world, meet some new friends, and forget about the fact that current times are hard. I’ll probably go book hunting on Valentine’s Day at the library, since most everyone around here is in a relationship and will likely be celebrating with their special someones next Tuesday. For now at least, it seems the most significant relationships I’m in for is contained within my love affair with reading.

But after all of that, I’m asking for a little help — does anyone have recommendations for fiction books that I can take with me on my cross-country plane trips? I’ll have lots of down time, and I usually spend flights reading, writing, thinking, and listening to music. I’d love something light yet intelligent, not adolescent fiction, but potentially something published in the past few years. I’d love to hear any recommendations you have to offer!

