A Sunny Day for Mt. Ellinor

The sun decided to come out and play this weekend. Since sunny days are so rare, some friends and I decided to take advantage of a sunny day as a chance to get in a winter hike. We brought snow shoes out to Mt. Ellinor in the Olympic National Forest and trekked up the mountain. We started out hike when we didn’t feel comfortable driving up anymore, so we basically hiked up a few miles to the base of the lower trail head. We took a look at how few people had come that way, and then proceeded on the main road up another mile or so before grabbing a bite to eat and heading back down.

I’d never hiked in snow before. Last year, my parents and I took a day trip to Yosemite Valley for a fun day of snowshoeing n a three day weekend, but today’s hike was several degrees more intense than the trip with my parents. I’m genuinely tired for the first time in a long time, and hoping to get a solid night of sleep tonight.

