The Day When Things Went Right

For the first time in a long time, everything felt right today. I woke up at 5:45, left for the gym at 6, had a decent work out, and made a commitment to myself to make it to 5:45 spin class before the month is over.

I made it to work on time, under a sky that had some blue patches in it, and helped unload our biggest food delivery of the month. Somewhere between carrying my fifth and sixth 50 pound box of frozen chicken, I realized that this might not have been the best day to try to fit in an awesome upper body workout. Early in the morning, I also got to have a conversation with our food bank coordinator about picking up some extra projects for food drives, tastings, and an extra hour shift each week, working passing out food.

When the delivery finished, a woman who is starting an early readers program in our library stopped in to ask my advice for spreading the news and getting more community involvement with her group. We chatted, and as she left for her group, she thanked me for my advice and said she’d try to implement it as the group goes forward.

At 10:00, two MPA (Masters of Public Administration) students from the local college came to talk to my coworkers and I about our experience working with the Spanish-speaking population in our rural service area. I contributed my insights based on the conversations I’ve had with clients and my own thoughts about how we’re serving the community. They thanked me, admired my articulation, and said that I’d given them some good things to report about for their research presentation next month. Since I’m interested in potentially pursing a similar course of study, and since I’m genuinely intrigued by their work, I asked for an invitation to attend the presentation.

The kids enjoyed their activities for the day, and even though we were down one staff member, their listening skills seemed better attuned than usual.

Now, I am tired, but happier than I’ve been at the end of the day in quite a while. I felt like more than an administrative assistant today. Usually, I am a listener, so it means a lot to me to have people say that they appreciate my advice and opinions. The highest compliment you can pay me is not to say that I am beautiful, but rather to tell me that my words have helped make your life better in some way. I felt appreciated, and hopeful for the future. For one day, there was a perspective granted for my place in the work that is happening in the community, and for this I am thankful. Hearing three people who are focused on community outreach come to me for my ideas about making their work more effective blessed my heart, and helped me to feel appreciated. It’s not something that happens often, so when it does, it’s extra special.

I wonder…does anybody really feel appreciated all the time? If you did feel appreciated, how would that change the way you interact with the people in your family, at your job, and in your community?

