Little Reasons to Hope

Last night I got to hold a friend’s baby for the first time. She was born last Tuesday right before all the power grids shut down. Oddly enough, I had two other friends give birth in the last week. My sister-in-law is due in about six months, and all of a sudden, it seems like everybody is having babies.

I walked away from the office yesterday feeling frustrated with a child in our program who is particularly difficult to work with. I hesitate to admit it, because I still want it to seem like all is well and wonderful with the kids, but honestly, it isn’t true. There are moments of joy, amusement, and fun, but there are also hard moments where I sigh and wonder at how broken the world is.

Holding my friend’s baby reminded me that with each new life, we get a chance to hope again. Looking at this little girl who isn’t mine in any sense, I felt an overwhelming desire to cherish her and protect her from whatever evil she’ll accomplish in the world as she grows up. It also makes me want to be there for my niece or nephew when she or he makes her entrance into the world.

I may not be there now, but you better believe that I’ll e there when it matters. In the meantime, I think I’ll spend some time with my friends and their baby girls.

