Ice In, Lights Off

Sorry for my silence the past couple of days. Remember when I told you about Snowmaggedon the other day? Well, now we’re into a new ice age. A couple of months ago when we were undergoing renovations at work, I couldn’t wait for the day when our heat would get turned on. I became convinced that I would never be warm, living up here in the Northwest. Then, we got heat, and I figured things would be okay. After that, you might imagine my surprise when everything simply…stopped. It was eerily quiet. The only noises were the sound of snow dripping off the roof, and the chatter of my neighbors as they tried to dig their cars out across the street.

I thought the texture was fascinating

Yesterday morning I was settling in for another day of reading. I decided that there was no sense trying to pretend that I was working. At this point, I’m just burning through forced vacation time. Not so happy about that, but I can’t really do anything about it at this point. However, just as I was settling in, the lights flickered, and then there was silence. My power was off. And it remained off. Even now, it is off. I spent yesterday reading by the dim light of grey skies, and then by candlelight in the evening. I ate some yogurt, fruit and bread for dinner, before sticking my dairy products in a bag, and depositing the bag outside in the snow for the night. This morning I trudged through the snow to Safeway, whose power was also off. I’ve never been in a grocery store before where the dairy is out front and you need a flashlight to see products. I picked up more fruit, veggies, and some nuts, but I promise I’m not actually going vegan. It’s more like I can’t figure out what else to eat without the ability to cook.

It's covering everything.

Right now, I’m thankful that I have a friend who has a fiance who has a mother whose house has heat and power and (most importantly) internet access, but I do rather wish my house had those things. I’m equally happy that this friend and her fiance were willing to pick me up in a truck and take me out for Mexican food this afternoon at a family run outfit called Paco’s Tacos. I wouldn’t starve without them, but it is nice to have something warm. It’s funny to me that the world keeps on spinning event without heat, warm water, and internet access. You’ll have to forgive me if I’m gone for another few days. I really don’t know how long it’s going to be before I have access to all of my modern conveniences again, but hopefully, the next time you hear from me, I’ll have had a shower, and I’ll be reading by lamplight instead of by candlelight. I’ll be watching the rain fall down and the flood waters rise, and I will count the days down until Miami (25 days, and counting).

Fortunately the water inside the pipes isn't frozen, just cold.

 

And so the wait continues

 

