Surviving Snowmaggedon

I watched several news stories this morning about the effects that the snow is having on the Puget Sound area this week, and heard someone calling this snowstorm snowmageddon. I figure they just want to imitate the nearly avoided catastrophe of carmaggedon last fall. Either way, it’s been interesting essentially having an entire snow week. Olympia has pretty much shut down. I watched a neighbor unsuccessfully back his truck out of the driveway this morning, and saw a few happy dogs out for walks with their humans. Yesterday I had my first snow day ever, but the flakes have been piling up, and as you’ll see, it’s pretty much impossible for me to drive away from the house now. I went for a walk in the snow today, but more on that later.

I like to ask people, “what would you do if you had a day off from work and could do whatever you wanted?” Well, I get to answer my own question this week, with a list of seven amazing ways to spend my days that tap into all my introvert passions.

1. Read

I’m still working through Mere Christianity  and I’m blown away by quotes from it every day. This morning one of my favorites was talking about how to get over your own pride and loving others more. I’m fully convinced that pride is a major reason for conflict on a personal and societal level, so I figure that being more humble and loving more would be a good thing. C.S. Lewis says:

But whenever we do good to another self, just because it is a self, made (like us) by God, and desiring its own happiness as we desire ours, we shall have learned to love it a little more or, at least, to dislike it less.

2. Cook & Bake

Yesterday I baked some pineapple upside down muffins, and today I made a delicious spicy cucumber soup for dinner.

Warm dinner on a cold day

3. Craft

After Monday’s MLK service project, I had lots of thank yous to write. Since I had the time, and I haven’t crafted for a while, I hand made a dozen cards to give to the donors and sponsors who made our event possible.

One of a dozen cards I made to thank sponsors from our MLK event

4. Take pictures

Somehow the snow makes me want to be outside way more than our usual rainy weather does, so when I finished my cards, I went for a walk and took some gorgeous pictures of my neighborhood blanketed in white.

A visual manifestation of a winter wonderland

5. Watch Netflix documentaries

While I was making cards and cooking today alone held time for Killer at Large: Why Obesity is America’s Greatest Threat, The New Recruits (a PBS documentary looking at social entrepreneurship as a means of ending global poverty), The Best Government Money Can Buy? (an insider’s look at legislative influence in Washington, D.C.) , and I.O.U.S.A (an examination of the debt crisis, pre-Obama).

6. Call my Mom

I’m going to assume no explanation is needed on this one.

7. Clean the house

Lastly, I did some deep cleaning inside. I’ve been out of town or working for five weekends in the past two months, so  today presented a great opportunity for me to do a deep clean of the inside of my household.

And there you have it, my solution to surviving snow days. I moved up to Washington because I didn’t want to live any place too cold or too snowy. Turns out, I can handle more than I thought. I’m loving the snow days, though I’m not entirely sure what else I have left to do tomorrow. In case you don’t believe me about the snow, here are more pictures taken from a walk around my neighborhood this afternoon.

Not the usual view

Taken from a bus stop

