The Versatile Blogger: Pass it Along

So this showed up in a comment a couple of days ago:

“I’d like to inform you that I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award”

I’d seen this once before on another blog, and so I clicked the link and followed through, looking for a fuller explanation.

The rules for it are:

1. Thank the award-giver and link back to them in your post.
2. Share 7 things about yourself.
3. Pass this award along to 15 recently discovered blogs you enjoy reading.
4. Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about the award.

fracturedangel, Here is your link back, and your thank you. I went back and read a lot of the things you’ve posted in the past few months, and I have to admit that you make me think. Of course, everything else does too, so I guess that’s not too surprising. I’ve got to admit that your posting this was interesting, because you posted it on a day that I had been thinking, “Why does it feel like no one is reading what I write?” and the echoes of a proverbial, “If my writing is published online and no one reads it, does it still exist?” Well, apparently I need not dwell too much on the last question, because obviously someone is reading.

But for the main event, I give to you seven things.

1. I get really passionate and excited and curious about random topics for short periods of time, then I move on. This means I have a little knowledge about a lot of topics.

2. My parents joked that they should’ve made my middle name “Candy”, because I was so fond of it as a child. If they were to make that joke with my grown-up self, they’d probably say my middle name should be “Thinker”. It doesn’t sound quite as amusing as “candy.” However, I am almost always thinking. People who meet me and people who’ve known me for years remark on this tendency.

3. My faith in God is the reason that I didn’t give up on life ten years ago.

4. I want to travel and meet people and see national parks and take pictures and write about the experience.

5. Austin is calling me home. Which is funny, because I still haven’t been there.

6. I would much rather listen to other people tell stories than to talk about myself. Still, it’s nice to feel like someone is listening and cares to hear what I have to say.

7. I believe that I am capable of making a significant positive impact on the world, but I have no idea what that means in the grand scheme of things. I’m working on figuring this out.

Whew. That was harder than I thought it would be.

And, for the third part…I am not going to make it to fifteen. I’d love to say that I have fifteen blogs I regularly read, but that’s not true. I’m still looking for ones to read. (Read this: I’m open to suggestions)

With that, though, I’ll give you these five:

1. The Art of Living

2. AntiWorld News

3. Dirty Quarter

4. What’s for Lunch?

5. Lovin The Little Things in Life

And there you have it. If you can find the thread that ties those five together, I’ll give you a golden star. Maybe even too.

Thanks again, fracturedangel, for reading, and affirming value in my writing.

 

Jamie

 

