Comfort in Certainty: Apple Cinnamon Bundt Cake

After a hiatus from cooking and baking, I have returned to the kitchen for some Sunday afternoon baking. Even with the difficult readjustment this week and questions of, “why am I here anyway, and what do I think that I’m doing?”, the kitchen is a comfort.  I watched Julie and Julia a few weeks ago when my friend Diane and I went on our holiday baking spree, and I was struck by this quote:

“You know what I love about cooking? I love that after a day when nothing is sure and when I say nothing, I mean nothing. You can come home and absolutely know that if you add egg yolks to chocolate and sugar and milk, it will get thick. That’s such a comfort.”
– Julie Powell, Julie and Julia

This is how I feel about baking. When I don’t feel significant or successful, I know that I can at least make something that tastes delicious. I still wish that there were more people around to munch on the final product, but I enjoy the process just the same.

I managed to squirrel away some cinnamon sticks from Trader Joe’s, a silver mixing bowl, and a bundt pan (yes, I know, I’m talented), into my checked luggage when I flew back up to Seattle this past week, and I made sure to use all of them today.

This recipe is from Cooking Light, a reflection of my attempts to eat healthy without forgoing excellent tasting desserts. Baking is too much fun to give it up for the sake of health. If it looks good to you, here’s the recipe.

I was overly excited about the fact that I got to use the cinnamon sticks that I’d purchased. Somehow using them seems more authentic than using powered cinnamon, even though I use it all the time.

This recipe was a little more intense than the ones I usually make. It has three different parts, each requiring some amount of effort. However, I felt proud when the cake came out of the pan clean, and proud to say that my first bundt cake was a success. If nothing else, I can boldly declare my competencies in the kitchen. Then, I can have a slice of cake, and eat it too.

