Technology is a Tool

I like technology. Not in the sense that I need to have the latest gadget or the most expensive one or the best brand, but I will watch and listen to buzz for a while and if something gets good reviews and has lasting power, I’ll check it out. I try to get what technology will allow me to do what I’d like to do  without paying a exorbitant amounts for it. This sentiment plays out into my life like so: I have an ipod touch, but not  an ipad. A messaging phone, but not a smart phone. A personal laptop but not a macbook.

Technology is a tool. According to the academics who taught my Humanities Core class my first year of college, even at it’s root, “Techne” means craft, art, or tool. We use it to accomplish larger purposes, but it is a means to an end, and not an end in and of itself. I recently jumped on the twitter bandwagon after reading a short history of its evolution. I first heard about twitter in 2008 and scoffed at the idea that people would want to constantly read what their friends ate for breakfast, or lunch, or the fact that they could tweet from a public bathroom stall. I thought twitter would soon phase out, convinced that even with our society-wide narcissistic epidemic, the twitter fad would soon pass.

However, twitter stuck around and evolved. It grew to be a news source and a networking tool, a mouthpiece for political activists, a way to find cool places to visit, a job board, and a live archive of articles. And now, in 2012, it has me. Which is not to say that I make twitter better, but more to say that it has finally captured my curiosity enough to invest some time and energy into it. I’m currently intrigued with twitter as I once was with facebook, and more recently pinterest. Like other pursuits, once I’m in, I’m all in. Thus far, I’m appreciating the condensed live news stream. We’ll see how it goes with other things.

Technology is a tool. Twitter is a mouthpiece and a megaphone. It allows for a new succinct literary genre, and creativity that rivals haikus. It’s showing up in conferences and classrooms, personal computers and corporate businesses.

Do you tweet? Why or why not? What do you see as the future of twitter, either on a large or small level?

