Russian Tea Cookies + Big News

Sorry Christmas, but today was, hands down, the best day of my time at home so far.

We had a epic hang out day, starting with a potluck lunch at a friends’, followed by communal baking. 

This baking led to the delectable consumption of tea + tea cookies.

Somehow tea time led to chess, played on an In-N-Out themed chessboard (the pawns were double-doubles).

In-N-Out claims California as home, even in our board games

Chess led to an intense round of Trivial Pursuit, a game chosen because we thought it would be faster than monopoly. Two hours later, I headed home for dinner with my parents and my brother and his wife who returned home from Christmas at her family’s home.

After dinner, we sat down with my brother and sister-in-law to open gifts with them, more books, some fragrance items, and some lawn tools for my brother that will be used to deconstruct and reconstruct a house that they’ll hopefully be moving into soon…but the biggest gift was found in the form of a card, given to my parents. 

The outside of the card has a picture with two big stockings, created by my mother, plus a smaller one next to it, hinting at the message inside which revealed that, come next July, I should be a first time Auntie. Hearing this makes me want to be closer to home, to be able to spend more time with the family. It reminds me that the future is uncertain and how unstable my plans can be.

Whew. Awesome day, but I think I’ve come to the end of the awesomeness. Congrats, L + D. I look forward to that extra stocking next year.

