Dad’s Banana Nut Bread

I’m still home for the holidays. Being here reminds me that I can get pretty lazy when I don’t have all of my usual responsibilities. That means I’m not cooking and baking as much, but I am enjoying great quality time with friends and family. As I mentioned the other day, my family is not as focused on gifts as we used to be, so my dad asked simply that I bake him something for Christmas.

This ended up being a day after Christmas event, but he now has two loaves of banana nut bread to enjoy. It was a little odd baking in my parents’ kitchen and not the small one in my duplex, but it was great having everything available and stocked. I tried to make it a little healthier than it otherwise could’ve been, but I didn’t skimp on the sugar or butter.

Making It:

1. Mix 1 C all-purpose flour, 1 C whole wheat flour, 2 tsp baking soda, and 1 tsp sea salt in a bowl. Set Aside.

2. Mix 1 C melted butter, 1/3  C honey, 1 ½ C sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cinnamon, and 4 eggs in a separate bowl.

3.Stir 2 C mashed bananas, and 1 C chopped pecans together in a third bowl.

4. Stir all ingredients together, and pour batter into two greased & floured loaf pans.

5. Bake bread at 350 degrees for 60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the top comes out clean.

 

Tah-Dah! After those five steps, you’ll end up with a moist and delicious, albeit, less-than-amazingly attractive loaf of banana but bread. Merry Christmas, Dad!

 

 

 

 

