Holiday Wreath of Deliciousness

Wreaths are just about the only craft genre that I really don’t understand. You take a circle, wrap some fabric or natural elements around it, add some other bobbles and hang it up for decoration. Meh. Sorry, but no thanks.

Edible wreaths on the other hand, I get. In an edible wreath, you’ve got pockets of golden goodness cradling some sweet or savory filling that makes your mouth water with just a glance. I first tasted this sort of wreath at a friends’ a couple of months ago, and made it tonight for tomorrow’s work potluck. I’ve got to admit–I made two. One small one that I and my roommate’s boyfriend consumed, and one for tomorrow. We had to make sure that it tasted good, right?


For this savory wreath, I followed the general combination of cooked veggies + delicious cheese inside a ring of rolls. Like the fact that I don’t like using boxed cake mix, I don’t like using pre-made dough. However, crescent rolls are mighty convenient for dishes like this, so I succumbed. I told myself that getting the reduced fat rolls made it better, but I don’t know.

The Recipe

Crescent rolls, unrolled to look like a sun, and then folded over the topping, which contains

  • ~1 Cup frozen spinach, cooked with 2 small onions & 3 chopped garlic cloves, then mixed with
  • a few dashes of red pepper
  • 1/2 C shredded Parmesan cheese
  • a few dashes of black pepper

After mixing the filling and rolling it into the crescent roll sun, I painted on an egg wash and sprinkled more Parmesan cheese on top.

The result? One fantastic contribution ready for tomorrow’s potluck.
For more detailed pictures of the process, check out Cookery Corner’s Broccoli Artichoke Crescent Wreath

