Holiday Treats and Sweets: Pecan Pie Bars

Starting off the day with a weather report of 21 degrees made me appreciate the fact that our heat has been functioning at work for the past week. It was 26 when I got to work this morning; I can only imagine how cold it would have been inside if our office was under the power conditions of the last month. We are fortunate for the heat, and for more sweets. It’s no secret I’ve got a bit of a sweet tooth, and these Pecan Pie Bars from BHG do quite well at satisfying it.

The second most simple of this past weekend’s roundup, these bar cookies are the perfect combination of nuttiness and sweetness.

The bottom layer crust has a pretty standard base of butter and flour but adds lightness with some powdered sugar. We didn’t have a pastry blender so we just used our fingers. The powdered sugar made the texture very soft. After popping that into the oven, we set out to make the top layer. Diane chopped pecans while I stirred it all together.

 

We pulled the crust out of the oven, poured on the pecan mixture, and set the whole thing back in the oven for 20 minutes. When it came out, we waited as long as we could and dug in. Of the four holiday treats we made, this got my roommate’s vote for best tasting. I still haven’t decided which is my favorite, but I must admit that these are pretty spectacular tasting.

 

