Cotton Candy Cookies

I swore that I would start my holiday baking this weekend. I’ve been stoking up on ingredients and packing material for a few weeks now, waiting for the baking mood to hit. I planned on knocking out cookies and treats this weekend, but I didn’t realize how little of a weekend I’d actually have. I worked eight hours yesterday and worked in the nursery at church this morning. Between those two things, I didn’t get much of a weekend. But what I did get was spent doing laundry, and grocery shopping. I managed to get one recipe done, though I will say that I probably won’t do this one again.

It was supposed to be a Peppermint Meringue Cookie, but I’m calling it Cotton Candy Cookies, because that’s what it seems like to me- pink sugar. If you bite the shell through, underneath you find soft sugar strands worthy of a county fair.

The recipe I used called for 3 egg whites, 1/4 tsp cream of tartar, 1/4 teaspoon peppermint extract, 1/8 tsp salt and 3/4 cup sugar. I saw that short ingredient list and figured it would be easy peasy. I underestimated how long it would take to beat the egg whites, and I think in the end I was a little too impatient still.

Here’s how things turned out, after 1 hr 30 minutes baking at 200 degrees in the oven. So much time for such little things!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

