A Brief Personal History of Crafting

Front, folded lengthwiseMy crafting experience started when I was young with Klutz books that my mother got for me. They were full of crafts that I thought were incredibly fun, and taught me a lot about seeing the potential of ordinary objects for something greater than themselves. The thing that I love most about crafts is the process of it all. To craft well, you work with any variety of objects and bring them together to match a vision of beauty in your mind. Some people have clearer visions than others, but I think the process of practicing crafts is valuable because it challenges your natural perspective and gives you a new way to look at the world. At age 14, I decided that I wanted to use this alternate perspective to preserve memories, so I started scrapbooking. I made a scrapbook for each of my four years of high school, one for college, and one commemorating the first three years of a former relationship. I put a lot of time, energy, and money, into the practice of scrapbooking, and in the process, I developed my skill. Now, I don’t scrapbook so much, but I am getting more into card making. I love making cards because they are small works of art that I can pour my heart into, and then give to someone I care about. I use my creativity and paper crafting skills to make something that will hopefully bring a smile to someone’s face when they receive it in the mail.

Though I abstained from shopping yesterday on Black Friday, I did go out for a bit this morning. I’d been wanting to get a tag sized paper punch for a while, and decided that I could deal with day two of Black Friday weekend at Joann’s in order to pursue that acquisition. I was disappointed to find that the one I wanted was not in my local store, but I found another that will work well enough. Between their specials and a mailer coupon, I paid about $5.50 for a punch that retails for $18. I also got some more acrylic stamps, and some wire for creating accents. Yes, I know, these aren’t things that everybody gets excited about, but it’s been a while since I’ve cracked into my paper crafting stash, and this was the inspiration I needed to sit down for projects this afternoon. Three of my friends from my hometown have birthdays in the next two weeks. There have been joint birthday celebrations, dinners, and wonderful memories made over the years with these friends. Despite the fact that I have not lived in my hometown for four and a half years now, I still consider these girls among my closest confidants. They are creative, intelligent, compassionate women, and I am thankful for their presence in my life. I am looking forward to a date, four weeks from now, when we can all join together in the same place again for laughter, games, and good food shared together. In the mean time, they will be receiving cards in the mail soon, my way of sending a hug before I can do it in person.

Creativity makes my world go round.

