Social and Economic Policy

I still have faith in the government. I feel in some sense that this is a risky statement for me to make, yet it is the truth.  I have not succumbed to the anarchistic mindset of many who surround me in this town, despite the national state of affairs in the past few years. I have caught a fervor for understanding more about how the world works, why race dynamics in the United States work the way they do, and how education, health care, and social services work for different classes and people of varying ethnic backgrounds. Somewhere along my academic career, I started paying attention in classes where discrepancies between population groups emerged. I have wondered at the causes of generational poverty and contemplated ways to break this vicious cycle. I have worked with people from different economic backgrounds and seen how difficult it is to gain footing in this country. I grew quite interested in the last TIME magazine issue, Can You Still Move Up in America? and the different articles this issue featured.

Along with all of that, I’ve been researching graduate programs, and I’ve fallen in love.  I found a program at the University of Texas, Austin (and yes, I am still stuck on Austin). I discovered a Masters in Public Affairs with a Specialty in Social and Economic Policy, to go along with all of these thoughts that have been swirling around in my head. This is a bit of a deviation from what I envisioned a couple of years ago, but I’m open to life changing direction. We’ll see if I still love it at the end of the year, but as of now, I am generally gearing up to move to Austin next year and applying for this program,  starting Fall 2013. I know better than to say that this is exactly what will happen, and I am not so proud to say that anything else would be unacceptable. The future is uncertain, whether one is trying to look a week in advance, a year, or twenty years. I am thankful for the life that I have been given today, for the libraries and networks that allow me to study independent of an academic setting, as well as for the institutions of academia that create more knowledge. I’m thankful for my parents’ support, and for their love. We had a great weekend this past weekend, and I’m looking forward to seeing what life has to bring.

