The Way I Try to Travel

Somewhere in the last couple of years, I was bitten by the travel bug. Though it sounds dangerous, I think everything will turn out okay in the end. It started with those weekend trips from Southern to Northern California. Before that, I had only been on a plane when I 1)had surgery and check ups in Florida for my TMJ when I was a young teen, and 2) when our family went to Maui to stay at a friend’s time share when I was 16. We would go on trips to my grandparents’ cabin near Tahoe, on trips to the Monterey and Santa Cruz areas. Aside from humanitarian trips to Mexico with my youth group, I hadn’t left the country until I graduated from college. Traveling out of state has always been a big deal, but now that I’m doing the whole living-on-my-own single life in another state deal, the idea of traveling sounds fantastic, and not quite as extraordinary as it did when I was younger.

Now everyone has preferences when it comes to travel. Some people enjoy sitting on a beach, tanning and sleeping. Some like venturing into the commercial world of manufactured happiness (aka Disneyland and its brethren) Others prefer experiencing the nightlife of each new city, and still others like finding hidden eateries. While there are people who enjoy all of the above and then some, I’m willing to bet that each individual has a preference. After getting to go to several countries in Europe for a bit of everything and traveling to more cities, I think I’ve figured out my priority travel persona. I am an outdoors traveler. I would much rather stay in a cabin, maybe even a tent, and go hiking and boating, than go to a city with live music and neon signs boasting happy hour specials. It follows that when you go on vacation, you want to go do things that make you happy, and for me, happiness comes from being outside and breathing fresh aid, nurtured by a multitude of plants surrounding me.

I’ve got a map on the wall in my room. It’s got different colored sewing pins stuck in it, representing my travels, past and present. I’ve got pins representing the places I’ve lived, the places I’ve visited, places friends live, cities I want to visit, and national parks I want to visit. One of my life goals is to visit all 50 states. Another travel related goal is to see the Aurora Borealis. I plan on working towards both goals by visiting Alaska, some day. Until then, I’ll keep dreaming and taking small trips. I hope to visit a friend in Miami early next year, in the only major city in Florida that I have not yet seen. I appreciate the ability that I now have to travel to Canada so easily, as I have done this weekend. I have hopes, plans, and aspirations for my travels, and of course, I want to do it all and pay as little as possible for it. Luckily for me, the staying outdoors kind of travel tends to be the least expensive. There is only one thing missing in my life that would help make all of my dreams come true, not to mention alleviate my parents’ worry: I need a travel partner. I’m sure that this will emerge in time. For the present, though, I’m going to enjoy this life for all it has to give, whether that means staying local or flying far.

